Glover Teixeira’s fairytale story has got its happy ending.

After a 20 year career and earning his way back to a UFC title shot seven years after a first failed bid, the 42-year old Teixeira would claim the light heavyweight championship with a second-round rear-naked choke of Jan Blachowicz.

Opening up the bout with an early takedown, the Brazilian would control the first round from guard as Blachowicz did little other than try to stall the older man on top.

The second would see the champion put up more of a fight with his takedown defence as both men stayed vertical and exchanged punches on the feet. While many had predicted that Blachowicz’s ‘Polish Power’ would be decisive in the stand-up, it was again Teixeira who proved one step ahead as a left hook sent Blachowicz stumbling.

With the champion stunned, a takedown followed soon after and the Brazilian quickly moved through his passes and transitions. From establishing mount to taking his back, Teixeira would sink in a rear-naked choke and bring about a quick tap to become the oldest UFC champion in the promotion’s modern history.

In a brilliantly technical and frenetic fight, Petr Yan’s power and adjustments would see him best Cory Sandhagen on the scorecards to earn the interim bantamweight title.

With Sandhagen starting out the contest at an incredible pace, ‘The Sandman’ would pick up the opening stanza with Yan struggling to sustain any success on the feet.

The second round would see a much closer battle between the two strikers but from there on out, Yan’s accuracy and power would prove to be the difference between the two.

From a knockdown in the third round with a spinning back fist and left hook by Yan, ‘No Mercy’ would have the final say on most exchanges as both fighters operated at a relentless pace.

With the full 25-minutes up, Yan would see his hand raised after both men put on a classic UFC title fight.

Main Card

Glover Teixeira def. Jan Blachowicz via submission (rear-naked choke) (Round 2, 3:02)

Petr Yan def. Cory Sandhagen via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46)

Islam Makhachev def. Dan Hooker via submission (kimura) (Round 1, 2:25)

Alexander Volkov def. Marcin Tybura via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Khamzat Chimaev def. Li Jingliang via submission (rear-naked choke) (Round 1, 3:16)

Magomed Ankalaev def. Volkan Oezdemir via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Preliminary Card

Amanda Ribas def. Virna Jandiroba via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Zubaira Tukhugov def. Ricardo Ramos via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Albert Duraev def. Roman Kopylov via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-27, 29-27)

Elizeu Zaleski dos Santos def. Benoit Saint-Denis via unanimous decision (29-26, 29-26, 29-26)

Michal Oleksiejczuk def. Shamil Gamzatov via TKO (Round 1, 3:31)

Early Preliminary Card

Lerone Murphy def. Makwan Amirkhani via KO (Round 2, 0:14)

Andre Petroski def. Hu Yaozong via submission (arm-triangle choke) (Round 3, 4:46)

Tagir Ulanbekov def. Allan Nascimento via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)