For the third time in his career, Jon Jones picked up the UFC light heavyweight championship despite never losing it in the cage.

With a dominant performance that ended via a third-round TKO, Jones outstruck Alexander Gustafsson before a double leg takedown shot from the outside marked the beginning of the end.

With Jones on top of Gustafsson in the middle of the Octagon, Jones passed through his Swedish foe’s defences with relative ease and took his back. What followed was a barrage of punches that left Gustafsson turtled up and an easy decision for referee Mike Beltran to wave off the fight.

Meanwhile in the co-main event, Amanda Nunes demolished Cris Cyborg to become the first female two-weight champion in a shocking result.

From the get-go, both women traded heavy punches in the pocket but Nunes speed and power rocked Cyborg early on. With the dominant featherweight champion showing signs of frailties, Nunes piled on the pressure and continually rocked Cyborg before a huge overhand right shocked the world and made history.

With Nunes now only the third fighter in UFC history to be a ‘double champ’, the Brazilian can unequivocally be called the greatest female fighter of all time.

Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images Sport

Main Card

Jon Jones def. Alexander Gustafsson via TKO (Round 3, 2:02)

Amanda Nunes def. Cris Cyborg via KO (Round 1, 0:51)

Michael Chiesa def. Carlos Condit via submission (kimura) (Round 2, 0:56)

Corey Anderson def. Ilir Latifi via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) 

Alex Volkanovski def. Chad Mendes via TKO (Round 2, 4:14)

Preliminary Card

Walt Harris def. Andrei Arlovski via split decision (27-30, 29-28, 29-28) 

Megan Anderson def. Cat Zingano via TKO (eye injury) (Round 1, 1:01)

Petr Yan def. Douglas Silva de Andrade via TKO (corner stoppage) (Round 2, 5:00)

Ryan Hall def. B.J. Penn via submission (heel hook) (Round 1, 2:46)

FightPass Undercard

Nathaniel Wood def. Andre Ewell via submission (rear-naked choke) (Round 3, 4:12)

Uriah Hall def. Bevon Lewis via KO (Round 3, 1:32)

Curtis Millender def. Siyar Bahadurzada via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Montel Jackson def. Brian Kelleher via submission (D’Arce choke) (Round 1, 1:40)