Vaughn Ridley/Getty Images Sport

Fight Of The Year

(2016 Winner: Cub Swanson vs Doo Ho Choi)

The Nominees:

Darren Elkins vs Mirsad Bektic (UFC 209)

For the best part of three rounds, Mirsad Bektic completely dominated Darren Elkins in every aspect of the fight. With two minutes left on the clock, however, Elkins turned the tables and secured one of the greatest comebacks in MMA history.

David Teymur vs Lando Vannata (UFC 209)

In a stand-up battle, David Teymur and Lando Vannata provided non-stop action over 15 minutes with an array of techniques on display before the underdog Teymur’s hand was raised.

Eddie Alvarez vs Dustin Poirier (UFC 211)

Throwing all that they could at one another, Eddie Alvarez and Dustin Poirier staggered and wobbled one another before an illegal knee by Alvarez brought a premature end and no contest ruling to a great fight.

Max Holloway vs Jose Aldo (UFC 212)

In a true changing of the guard moment, Max Holloway displayed his adaptability, incredible work rate and power as the Hawaiian started the ‘Blessed Era’ by taking Aldo’s featherweight belt in his opponent’s backyard.

Justin Gaethje vs Michael Johnson (The Ultimate Fighter 25 Finale)

Justin Gaethje came into the UFC with a 17-0 record and a penchant for violence. What followed was a two-round war with the lighting fast Michael Johnson and Justin Gaethje living up to his nickname of ‘The Highlight’.

Brian Ortega vs Renato Carneiro (UFC 214)

Coming off a big win against Jeremy Stephens, Renato Carneiro was looking for back-to-back scalps in the featherweight division. With a fellow incredible grappler standing opposite, Carneiro and Brian Ortega engaged in a tightly contested striking battle before Ortega capitalised with a guillotine choke in the final stanza.

Lando Vannata vs Bobby Green (UFC 216)

With both men showing a disregard for defence, Lando Vannata and Bobby Green whacked away at one another for three rounds before both men walked away with a split decision draw.

Dustin Poirier vs Anthony Pettis (UFC Fight Night 120)

In a bloody and exhausting contest, Dustin Poirier proved that diamonds are formed under pressure as the 28-year old defeated the former lightweight champion in a bout which took place in every aspect of the game.

Frank Camacho vs Damien Brown (UFC Fight Night 121)

Slugging away at each other with UFC commentator Dan Hardy providing a standing ovation, Frank Camacho and Damien Brown simply beat each other up for three excellent rounds of action.

Yancy Medeiros vs Alex Oliveira (UFC 218)

With the momentum of the fight sliding back and forth like a pinball caught between two bumpers, Yancy Medeiros outlasted Alex Oliveira in one of two fight of the nights at UFC 218 as the Hawaiian recorded a third round TKO.

Eddie Alvarez vs Justin Gaethje (UFC 218)

In the second fight of the night at UFC 218, Eddie Alvarez and Justin Gaethje battled for the crown of the UFC’s most violent man. With a knee up the middle to Gaethje’s chin, Eddie Alvarez took his opponent’s undefeated record and the adulation of those in attendance.